محاماة إصابة شخصية في نيويورك وسياتل

سياتل ونيويورك للمحاماة على حوادث الدراجات

كيفية استرداد التعويض بعد حادث دراجة

يمكن أن تكون حوادث الدراجات خطيرة حقًا. على الرغم من وجود تدابير وقائية يمكن وضعها مثل ارتداء خوذة ووسادات الركبة ، إلا أنها قد لا تكون كافية لحمايتك من التعرض للإصابات. قد لا يفعلون الكثير لتقليل التأثير. إذا تعرضت لإصابة في حادث دراجة هوائية في سياتل أو نيويورك ، فاعلم أنه قد يمكنك المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات التي لحقت بك. يمكنك رفع دعوى قضائية لتحميل الشخص المسؤول عن الحادث المسؤولية. في Oshan and Associates ، عالجنا الكثير من حالات حوادث الدراجات. لقد ساعدنا هؤلاء العملاء في الحصول على التعويض الذي يستحقونه عن الإصابات التي لحقت بهم.

الأسباب الرئيسية لحوادث الدراجات

تحدث حوادث الدراجات بسبب عدة عوامل قد تكون مرتبطة بالأطراف المشاركة في الحادث ، وحتى سلطة الصيانة. بعض أسباب هذه تشمل:

  • السرعة الزائدة: وقد لوحظ أن السرعة الزائدة هي أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لحوادث الدراجات. يجب على السائقين وراكبي الدراجات مراعاة قوانين المرور ومستخدمي الطريق الآخرين والمشاة وحالة الطريق عند تحديد سرعة آمنة للسفر.
  • ركوب قريب: قد يكون الركوب عن قرب مع سائقي السيارات ومستخدمي الطريق الآخرين أمرًا خطيرًا لأن ركوب الدراجات رياضة توازن. إصابة طفيفة قد تتسبب في وقوع حادث. هناك متطلبات قانونية بشأن المسافة بين مستخدمي الطرق في بعض الولايات في الولايات المتحدة. يجب على السائقين مغادرة ثلاثة أقدام على الأقل من أوسع نقطة في سيارتهم والدراجة. ومع ذلك ، قد لا يكون من الآمن بالنسبة لراكب الدراجات أن يفترض أن السيارات ستترك مساحة كبيرة. قد يتم منح الامتيازات ضمن المساحة المحدودة لضمان السلامة. حتى أن استخدام ممر الكتف أو الرصيف أكثر أمانًا.
  • ركوب غير مقصود أو القيادة: رحلة الجسم مع برنامج الجمعية الملكية للوقاية من الحوادث ذكرت أنه في التصادمات التي تنطوي على دراجة ومركبة ، كان العامل المشترك الأكثر شيوعًا هو أن السائق أو الفارس "فشل في النظر بشكل صحيح". يزداد احتمال المعاناة من إصابات خطيرة عندما يكون الفارس أو السائق تحت تأثير الكحول. في الآونة الأخيرة ، كانت هناك دعوات لحظر سماعات الرأس / سماعات الأذن لراكبي الدراجات للمساعدة في الحفاظ على انتباههم وبالتالي منع الحوادث.
  • عصيان قوانين السير: يعد تشغيل إشارة ضوئية أو ركوب الدراجات عبر الممرات من العوامل التي تسببت في حوادث دراجات مميتة على مر السنين. يتعين على راكبي الدراجات إطاعة علامات المرور والإشارات وعلامات الممرات ، وكذلك سائقي السيارات.
  • ظروف الطريق الخطرة: وفقًا لـ NHTSA ، فإن 13 بالمائة من جميع حوادث الدراجات التي تسبب الإصابات ناتجة عن طرق لا يتم صيانتها بشكل صحيح. يمكن أن تزيد الحفرة الواحدة بشكل كبير من عامل الخطر على الطرق ، خاصة عندما لا يمكن ملاحظتها بسهولة.

حيث تحدث معظم حوادث الدراجات

يوضح تقرير NHTSA أن 70٪ من الحوادث المميتة تحدث في المناطق الحضرية. 61٪ لم يكونوا عند التقاطعات بينما كان 3٪ في ممرات الدراجات. تتحدث هذه الإحصائيات عن عدة حقائق. أبرزها أن ركوب الدراجات في مناطق محددة هو الطريقة الأكثر أمانًا لتجنب الحوادث. كما يظهر أن حوادث ركوب الدراجات تحدث بشكل أكبر في المناطق التي تعج بالناس - المناطق الحضرية.

إحصائيات الوفيات من حوادث الدراجات

وفقا لتقرير عام 2015 من قبل الإدارة الوطنية لسلامة المرور على الطرق السريعة (NHTSA) في عام 2017 ، قتل أكثر من 818 راكب دراجات في حوادث ركوب الدراجات. هذا يمثل 2.3 ٪ من جميع الوفيات الناجمة عن حركة المرور خلال العام. نقطة أخرى جديرة بالملاحظة هي أن هناك ارتفاعًا كبيرًا في عدد الوفيات من حوادث ركوب الدراجات حيث تم الإبلاغ عن 729 حالة وفاة في عام 2014. فيما يتعلق بالوتيرة ويوم الأسبوع ، أفيد أن 15 ٪ من وفيات الدراجين وقعت في أيام الأسبوع بين الساعة 6 صباحًا و 8: 59 مساءً. حدث 4٪ فقط خلال هذا الوقت في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع.

تدابير وقائية ضد حوادث الدراجة

هناك العديد من الإجراءات التي يمكنك اتخاذها لحماية نفسك في حالة وقوع حادث دراجة. قد يشمل بعضها على سبيل المثال لا الحصر:

  • ارتداء خوذة واقية
  • البقاء يقظًا عقليًا وجسديًا
  • التزم بقوانين المرور
  • تأمين تأمين مناسب
  • لديك مصباح أمامي تشغيلي
  • اعتماد القيادة الدفاعية
  • ركوب في ممرات الدراجات والأرصفة المخصصة

هذه القائمة ليست شاملة ويمكن اتخاذ تدابير أخرى. حاول تجنب استخدام سماعات الأذن وسماعات الرأس لأنها تؤثر على التركيز والوعي العقلي.

ما لا يجب عليك فعله بعد حادث دراجة:

  • ابق في المشهد - لا داعي للذعر والبدء في الجري. قد يسبب ذلك ضررًا أكثر من نفعه.
  • إبقاء شركة التأمين في الخليج - يجب ألا تتحدث إلى شركة تأمين على الفور حيث يمكنك التفاوض على اتفاقية لا تتناسب مع إصاباتك. قد ينتهي بك الأمر أيضًا إلى الاعتراف بالمسؤولية دون علم.
  • لا توقع على أي تفويضات - التوقيعات هي موافقات قد تكون مكلفة إذا وصلت قضيتك في نهاية المطاف إلى المحكمة. لا توقع على أي شيء تقدمه شركات التأمين دون استشارة محام.
  • لا تحاول إصلاح أي ضرر لدراجتك - لا تحاول العبث بالأدلة إما لأنه قد يؤثر على احتمالية استردادك للتعويض عن إصاباتك.

ما يجب عليك فعله بعد حادث دراجة:

لا يزال بإمكانك التعافي من إصاباتك والمطالبة بالتعويض عن الضرر الذي لحق بدراجتك إذا لاحظت ما يلي وطبقته:

  • التقاط صور ومقاطع فيديو - تأكد من التقاط صور ومقاطع فيديو كافية للمشهد. يمكن أن يساعد ذلك في تحديد من هو المخطئ ، وتقدير الأضرار.
  • النزول عن الطريق - مباشرة بعد الحادث ، تحتاج إلى النزول عن الطريق. إذا كنت قادرًا على التحرك ، فيمكنك القيام بذلك بنفسك. إذا لم تكن كذلك ، يمكنك طلب المساعدة. يساعد الخروج من الطريق على منع المزيد من الإصابات.
  • انتظر وصول الشرطة - من المستحسن أن تنتظر وصول الشرطة إلى مكان الحادث. تأكد من أنهم يكتبون تقرير شرطة مفصل. لا يُنصح ببدء مفاوضات مع السائق أو مستخدم الطريق الآخر المتورط في الحادث. هذا لأنهم قد يعترفون على الفور ولكنهم ينكرون المسؤولية لاحقًا. إذا أعطى ضابط الشرطة في الموقع للسائق الآخر تذكرة ، فسيكون ذلك مفيدًا جدًا في تقديم مطالبتك مع شركة التأمين.
  • اكتب كل شيء تتذكره - حاول أن تتذكر كل ما حدث في مكان الحادث قبل وصول الشرطة. يجب عليك بعد ذلك إعادة سرد نسختك من الأحداث إلى الشرطة إذا طلب ذلك. في بعض الأحيان ، قد يأخذون فقط تصريح الطرف الآخر في الحادث. الأهم من ذلك ، اكتب ما تتذكره من الحادث في أول فرصة تحصل عليها. إذا لم يطلب الضابط نسختك من الأحداث ، فصر على إخبارهم بما يمكنك تذكره.
  • جمع معلومات الاتصال للسائق والشاهد - تأكد من تسجيل الاسم ورقم رخصة السيارة ورقم الهاتف وعنوان السائق الآخر. إن أمكن ، خذ أيضًا أسماء ومعلومات الاتصال لأي من المارة الذين شاهدوا الأحداث. هذا سوف يساعد ادعائك لاحقًا. إذا لم تتمكن من الحصول على هذه المعلومات بنفسك بسبب إصاباتك ، فيمكنك أن تطلب من أحد المارة مساعدتك.
  • تواصل مع محامي الإصابات الشخصية - أفضل ما لديك للحصول على تعويض كامل عن الإصابات التي لحقت بشخصك والأضرار التي لحقت بدراجتك هو استشارة محامي الإصابات الشخصية. من المعروف أن شركات التأمين قاسية فيما يتعلق بمطالبات التعويض. قد تكلفك خطوة خاطئة غالية. هناك محامون ذوو خبرة يمكنهم المساعدة في التعامل مع مطالبات التأمين وحالات الإصابات الشخصية وأفضل لقطة لك تقع عليهم. تواصل مع أفضل محامو حوادث الدراجات.

إذا كنت قد شاركت في حادث دراجة سياتل ، فأنت لديك أفضل فرصة لتحقيق نتيجة مواتية مع أفضل شركة إصابة شخصية في واشنطن ونيويورك. محامينا في أوشان وشركاه ماهرة في قانون الإصابات الشخصية ولديهم الخبرة لتقديم تمثيل شامل لك. استفد من استشارتنا المجانية بدون التزام لبدء محادثة معنا اليوم. اتصل بنا على 206-335-3880 لحجز الاستشارة الخاصة بك.

DIRECT AGGRESSIVE ADVOCACY

Seattle & New York bicycle accident law firm

How to recover compensation after a bicycle accident

Bicycle accidents can be really serious. Although there are protective measures that may be put in place like wearing a helmet and knee pads, these may not be enough to protect you from sustaining injuries. They may not even do very much to minimize impact. If you have been injured in a Seattle or New York bicycle accident, know that you may be able to claim compensation for injuries sustained. You can file a lawsuit to hold the person that caused the accident responsible. At Oshan and Associates, we have handled a lot  bicycle accident cases. We have helped these clients obtain the compensation they deserve for the injuries done to them.

Major causes of bicycle accidents  

Bicycle accidents happen due to several factors that may be linked to the parties involved in the accident, and even the maintenance authority. Some the causes of these include:

  • Over-speeding: It has been observed that over speeding is one of the major causes of bicycle accidents. Drivers and cyclists should consider traffic laws, other road users, pedestrians and the condition of the road when determining a safe speed to travel.
  • Close riding: Close riding with motorists and other road users may be dangerous as cycling is a sport of balance. A slight hit may cause an accident. There are legal requirements as to space between road users in some states in the US. Drivers are required to leave at least three feet from the widest point of their vehicle and the bicycle. However, it may not be safe for a cyclist to assume that the cars will leave plenty of space. Concessions within the limited space may be given to ensure safety. It is even safer to use a shoulder lane or a sidewalk.
  • Inattentive riding or driving: The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents reported that in collisions involving a bicycle and a vehicle, the most common contributory factor was that either the driver or the rider “failed to look properly”. The likelihood of suffering severe injuries is increased when the rider or driver is under the influence of alcohol. Recently, there have been calls for headphone/earbuds ban for cyclists to help keep their attention and thereby forestall accidents.
  • Disobeying traffic laws: Running a traffic light or cycling across lanes are factors that have caused fatal bicycle accidents over the years. Cyclists are required to obey traffic signs, signals and lane markings, so are motorists.
  • Dangerous road conditions: According to the NHTSA, 13 percent of all injury-causing bicycle accidents are caused by roads that are not properly maintained. A single pothole can significantly increase the risk factor on roads, especially when it is not easily noticeable.

Where most bike accidents occur

The NHTSA report shows that 70% of fatal crashes happen in urban areas. 61% were not at intersections while 3% were in bike lanes. These statistics speak to several facts. The prominent one being that cycling in designated areas is the safest way to avoid accidents. It also shows that cycling accidents happen more in areas bustling with people – the urban areas.

Statistics on deaths from bike accidents

According to the 2015 report by National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)  in 2017, over 818 cyclists were killed in cycling accidents. This accounted for 2.3% of all traffic fatalities during the year. Another point of note is that there is a considerable rise in the number of fatalities from cycling accidents as 729 deaths was reported in 2014. With respect to frequency and day of the week, it was reported that 15% of cyclist fatalities occurred on weekdays between 6am and 8:59pm.  Only 4% occurred during this time on weekends.

Precautionary measures against bike accidents

There are several measures you can take to protect yourself in the event of a  bicycle accident. Some may include but not limited to:

  • Wearing a helmet and a protective gear
  • Staying mentally and physically alert
  • Obey traffic laws
  • Securing a suitable insurance
  • Have an operational headlight
  • Adopt defensive driving
  • Ride in designated bike lanes and sidewalks

This list is not exhaustive and other measures may be taken. Try to avoid the use of earbuds and headphones as it affects concentration and mental awareness.

What you shouldn't do after a bicycle accident:

  • Stay at the scene - Do not panic and start running. That may cause more harm than good.
  • Keep insurance company at bay - You should not talk to an insurance company immediately as you may negotiate an agreement that will not be commensurate to your injuries. You may also end up admitting liability unknowingly.
  • Do not sign any authorizations - Signatures are endorsements which may prove costly if your case eventually gets to court. Do not sign anything presented by insurance companies without consulting a lawyer.
  • Do not attempt to repair any damage to your bike - Do not try to tamper with evidence either as it may affect the likelihood that you will recover compensation for your injuries.

What you should do after a bicycle accident:

You may still recover from your injuries and also claim compensation for the damage to your bike if you take note of and apply the following:

  • Take pictures & videos - Make sure you take enough pictures and videos of the scene. This can help in determining who's at fault, and asses damages.
  • Get off the road - Immediately after the accident, you need to get off the road. If you are able to move, you can do so yourself. If you aren’t, you may call for help. Getting out of the road helps to prevent further injuries.
  • Wait for the arrival of the police - It is advisable that you wait for the police to arrive at the accident scene. Ensure that they write a detailed police report. It is not advisable to start negotiations with the driver or other road user involved in the accident. This is because they may admit on the spot but later deny liability. If the police officer at the scene gives the other driver a ticket, this would be very useful in making your claim with the insurance company.
  • Write down everything you recall - Try to recollect all that happened on the scene before the police arrives. You should then recount your version of events to the police if requested. Sometimes, they may only take the statement of the other party to the accident. More importantly, write down what you remember from the accident the first chance you get. If the officer does not request your version of events, insist on telling them what you can recollect.
  • Collect driver and witness contact information - Ensure that you record the name, vehicle license number, phone number and address of the other driver. If possible, also take the names and contact information of any bystanders who saw the events. This will help your claim later. If you cannot get this information by yourself because of your injuries, you can ask a bystander to help you.
  • Reach out to a personal Injury attorney - Your best shot at getting full compensation for injuries caused to your person and damage caused to your bike, is to consult a personal injury attorney. Insurance companies are known to be tough with compensation claims. A misstep may cost you dearly. There are experienced attorneys who could help deal with insurance claims and personal injury cases and your best shot lies with them. Contact the best bicycle accident attorneys.

If you have been involved in a Seattle bicycle accident, you stand the best chance of a favorable outcome with the best Washington and New York personal injury firm. Our lawyers at Oshan and Associates are skilled at personal injury law and have the experience to provide thorough representation for you. Take advantage of our free no-obligation consultation to start a conversation with us today. Call us on 206-335-3880 to book your consultation.